Countdown to Christmas

13 Dec

December is usually filled with festive activities, and, if you’re me, doctor appointments.

During college, winter break was the perfect excuse to go see hometown doctors that I otherwise was unable to see while in Columbus. Although I decided to keep up the tradition of December appointments this year, I had the tedious task of finding new doctors in New Jersey. I seem to have caught a break with my choices, since I had positive first impressions of all of them.  It’s difficult when you don’t know anyone in the area to provide you with recommendations and have to blindly choose a practitioner from a list.

So after my first appointment with my new optometrist yesterday, I traveled into the city for a short day of festive fun. This was my last weekend to see the Christmas decorations before heading home for the holidays, so I was eager to say the least.

In only five minutes after my arrival I was overwhelmed by just the crowds in Times Square. The warm temperatures (65 in December!) combined with Christmas on the horizon meant more people than usual on the streets.

I spent some time “people watching” at Bryant Park’s Winter Village while waiting for Summy, who was having lunch in Brooklyn with an out-of-town friend. I’ve always admired people who can ice skate. I’m that person who has to cling onto the wall and still manages to fall down.

IMG_1553

After she arrived, the two of us decided to make our way towards Rockefeller Center after hearing that most of the “Christmas-y” displays and sculptures were in that area.

I was so ecstatic to see the tree for the first time! Although it wasn’t as pretty during the day, I was still in awe.

IMG_1568

IMG_1574

 

 

We were a little less than an hour away from it becoming dark outside, so we planned to hang around the area and admire the other decorations. Unfortunately, we had to fight our way through a sea of people to get around. There were police officers on nearly every corner to direct crowds crossing the street. Boy am I glad it’s not normally that insane!

Despite the chaos, I was still able to get some fun pics of the nearby decorations.

I had heard good things about Saks’ Christmas window displays, so I was quite disappointed when I saw they had gone a different direction this year with mannequins. Other passersby expressed complaints, as well.

Saks made it up to everyone, however, with their impressive holiday light show. It felt like watching the fireworks at Disneyworld (and almost looked like Cinderella’s castle)

IMG_1614.JPG

Then, in a sea of people, we turned the corner and headed back to the tree. So magical! (The tree, not the crowds….)

I was so set on getting good pictures that Summy and I ended up getting separated in the area around the tree. It took a hard-to-hear phone call and some patience to find each other again!

We parted ways shortly after in Times Square, where I made a quick run into the Disney Store to see their decorations. I was not impressed that it was lacking seasonality.

Honestly, I was more excited about the very quick digital billboard/promo of the upcoming X Files revival. I’m sure the Times Square officers standing nearby were wondering why I was standing there like a nerd waiting for the loop of commercials to finish so I could take a picture.

That night, back in my apartment, I topped off the day’s festivities by watching Home Alone 2: Lost in New York. I ended up falling asleep on and off for the last hour, but hey…it’s the thought that counts.

So, to recap what I learned this weekend:

-People will go ice-skating even in 60-degree weather

Global warming is alive and kicking

Most Christmas decorations should be admired at night

I’m enough of an X Files geek to stand in Times Square staring at a billboard of the show like an idiot

Christmas in NYC is as pretty as I imagined, and I feel incredibly fortunate that I was able to see the city’s famous decorations in person